Aperture 1.1 working on a 12″ powerbook!

Finally I have Aperture 1.1 working on my 12″ powerbook. I still haven’t tested how stable or unstable it is after all the hacking. Anyway what’s needed is:
1, I’m assuming that you have Aperture 1.0 installed
2, Install 1.1 using Software Update
3, Make a backup copy of Aperture
4, Open Aperture.app/Contents/MacOS/Aperture in a hex editor.
5, Edit the following offsets: (format is offset: original –> hacked)
0×93b8: 40 9E 00 88 -> 48 00 00 88
0×9454: 40 9E 00 88 -> 48 00 00 88
0x94f0: 40 9E 00 E0 -> 48 00 00 E0
6, Save the file and run Aperture. Comment on how sucessful you are.

Finally to give credit where credit’s due: the first two edits which disable the hardware checks are from here. The last bit, disabling the resolution check has been done (by the method of almost blind guessing) by me.

119 Responses to “Aperture 1.1 working on a 12″ powerbook!”

  1. Chris Says:

    Oh my god, it worked! Thank you so much! I am running aperture 1.1 on a 1.42ghz, ibook 14″! Now I just have to learn how to use in instead of photoshop!

  2. d.siska Says:

    If you want to use Aperture instead of Photoshop you’d be disappointed. Aperture is to be used together with Photoshop. You use Aperture to organize photographs. You can also do some minor modifications in Aperture – rougly the ones that you would do with real photographs in a darkroom. You then use Photoshop for anything more major. But good luck anyway. Btw. how slow is Aperture on an iBook? It’s pretty dreadfully slow on my PB 12″ already (that’s probably why Apple doesn’t want people running it on this sort of hardware).

  3. fipa Says:

    Thanks for your tip! 😉 Aperture 1.1 runs quite nice on my 12″ PowerBook!

  4. Almir Says:

    Wha…? How….? Wh….?
    Have no words man… your rule!
    Thanks, your blog is sure to be in my bookmarks, great stuff
    Only a question: Did Apple inc. sent you any letters recently?… (just kidding)

  5. Chris Says:

    I have not really used it. Been just useing photoshop, so now will learn all I can. It all seems to take awhile when you do not know what you are doing. Thanks again!

  6. Jace Says:

    Hi, this hack was successful in bypassing the resolution check, but now I am unable to do anything in aperature. It starts, but I cannot select any of my old projects, or anything for that matter. It just stares at me! I’m running on a PowerMac G5 dual 2.3 The problem is that my monitor is only 1280×720 instead of 1280×780 like it wants.

  7. d.siska Says:

    Hi Jace! I’m sorry I couldn’t have tested this for a G5. I’d say restore your Aperture from backup and try to do the chages again carefully, to make sure you change exactly the right offsets. If you do this, there should be no reason for Aperture getting stuck after it starts up!

  8. Adit Says:

    OMG it works perfectly on my 1.33ghz 12″ powerbook! it feels faster too thanks for the find!!! i love you!!!! (no, im not gay, sorry)

  9. Macsin Says:

    Awesome!!!!!!! Works very nicely! First crack for the screen size I’ve seen. works perfectly!!!! My G4Powerbook is back running Aperture!!!! Thank you so much!

  10. Patrick Says:

    Absolutely awesome. Admittedly I was kind of hoping it wouldn’t work after I hit the “ok, irreversably update my library” (although of course I have vaults), so I’d have to go buy an MBP. Oh well 🙂

    My wallet thanks you.

  11. Scott Says:

    Sweet!

    Many thanks!

  12. Garrett Says:

    It even worked on a 12″ 1ghz machine. I’m impressed and thankful. Thank you thank you.

    I still “need” a macbook pro, of course.

    😉

  13. Jonathan Wilson Says:

    Works here also! 12″ 1.33 ibook, kinda tricky at first but works perfectly.

  14. Anil K Solanki Says:

    Hi there, I had aperture 1.0 running fine on my Dual G4 tower. So I decided to run the update to 1.1 and see if this new hack works. Unfortunately it doesn’t work for me, aperture just bounces in the dock and then just disappears.

    Does anyone have any ideas why this isn’t working?

    All the best,

    Anil.

  15. TiDY Says:

    wow … sweet … thank you so much …

  16. d.siska Says:

    Hi Anil, I _think_ that you might not have changed the file in exactly the right way. Try again from backup. The way this works is that it should ignore the results of the checks and just carry on; really no reason for getting stuck and bouncing in the dock, _unless_, of course there is some other reason why your graphics card does not work.

  17. Someone Says:

    It appears that the 1.1 hack mentioned here does not work with the 1.1.1 Update released today. Recommendations regarding the proper hex bits to edit would be appreciated! 🙂

  18. James Says:

    Thanks for the help with Aperture 1.1 (it runs quite well on the 12″), and perhaps (if people haven’t already figured it out), the first two hacks are the same for Aperture 1.1.1 (recently released), but the locations are now 0x9908 and 0x99A4. I haven’t gotten a patch for the res thing tho 😦

  19. d.siska Says:

    Yes, the edits are now: updated to fix a mistake a made earlier
    0×9908: 40 9E 00 88 -> 48 00 00 88
    0×99a4: 40 9E 00 88 -> 48 00 00 88
    0×9a5c: 40 9E 00 D8 -> 48 00 00 D8
    the last one is for the screen resolution. Hope it works 🙂 I don’t seem to have any trouble, but as always, if in doubt, backup!

  20. nick Says:

    Thanks for all the help. I went though the steps for 1.1 and it worked like a charm, and then i updated to 1.1.1 and put in the new hacks and now it won’t launch at all, a window pops up saying app close unexpectedly. I am running a 12 inch power book, 1.25 gigs of ram and a 1.5 Ghz processor.
    Any one have any ideas?
    thanks so much

  21. LATBauerdick Says:

    Hi, I think there is a typo in the above edits for Aperture 1.1.1

    At least the following does work:

    0×9908: 40 9E 00 88 -> 48 00 00 88
    0×99a4: 40 9E 00 88 -> 48 00 00 88
    0×9a5c: 40 9E 00 E0 -> 48 00 00 D8

    Thanks for provding this great hack!

  22. d.siska Says:

    Yes, LATBauredick is right, I made a mistake when I wrote the post. I now corrected the above post as well, so that people don’t get confused.

    BUT, are you sure about the last line? When I open my backup file I the offset
    0x95ac is 40 9E 00 D8. Anyway, you want to only change 40 9E -> 48 00 and not worry about the address (i.e. changing bne to b in assembly language instructions).

  23. TiDY Says:

    Awesome … was just about to ask about 1.1.1 …

    nice to see y’all on top of things …

    much appreciated …

  24. Karol tymal Says:

    Omlouvam dotaz zacatecnika: 40 9E 00 88 se tam vyskytuje vic nez 2x – nahradit vse? A jak vubec hledat “0×9908”?

  25. mikey Says:

    Hi, well i’ve had 1.0 running for a while with the no cpu crack, i’ve tried your method to update to 1.1 with no joy, keeps saying that my graphics card is no good, strange as i have a 9800pro 256mb, on a g4 867 duel.
    So i tried to update just to 1.01…same thing, so then i tried to update to 1.1.1, that time i got the screen res whas not up to it, funny again (or not) as i’m running at 1600×1200.
    Help…any ideas.
    be nice to be able to use aperture (1.0 was rubish with the raw conversion….so much noise)
    Many thanks mike

  26. Bill Says:

    Anybody know what I need to change to get it working with 750 MB of RAM?

  27. d.siska Says:

    To Karol: Hi Karol, yes you first have to find the offset 0x9908. If you’re using 0xED (a hex editor, there’s a link to it in the original post), then in the upper right corner, there’s a “Go to offset” field. Put in “9908”. And then change 40 9E to whatever you want to change it to.

    Hi mikey, bit difficult your question, as I don’t have the computer you mention. The only thing I can suggest (and you might have tried this already), is restore your Aperture binary from backup and try the edits again, very carefully. OR try searching http://groups.google.com/.

  28. Karol tymal Says:

    Diky, uz to jde.

  29. nick Says:

    Thanks allot d.siska and LATBauerdick, it works great now!!

  30. Someone Says:

    Bill,

    You have to edit the Info.plist file within the Aperture.app package. The line you’re looking for is “AELMinimumRAMSize” (2nd from the top); I’d recommend setting it to “0”, as opposed to “1000”, but remember that performance will still suffer with less than 1 GB RAM actually installed…

    Best wishes,
    Someone

  31. Papo Says:

    Hi,
    I tried to hack aperture in my ibook g4 12″ but didt work. It still says that my resolution isn´t enough.
    Do you know any magic trick for ibooks?
    Thanks

  32. d.siska Says:

    Hi Papo, I don’t know. Are you sure you got the hack right? It should completely skip the resolution check, no matter what hardware (as long as the cpu is PPC, not Intel).

  33. mikey Says:

    Right have it sorted now…fully working, just had to update to 1.1.1 then apply the above hexedit in hexedit, then open the pkg. (right click aperture app) and open it in the txt editor( txt wrangler), then delete the screen resolution lines (both of them.
    Restart aperture, enter serial and bobs your uncle etc etc.
    Nice one…many thanks
    Mike

  34. d.siska Says:

    A detailed description of how to use hexedit is here, I hope this helps people getting it done right the first time.

  35. cocaine Says:

    When I install Aperture 1.0 and i try to run it, it says something like hardware req. not ok.
    So i want to hex edit it. Before the hex edit I update aperture to 1.0.1
    When i try to run it, it says something like hardware req. not ok.
    Then i update Aperture to 1.1 (the right version for the hex edit, first mentioned).
    When i try to run it (without the hex edit) is does nothing. So i ran it from the terminal and then it says:

    $ ./Aperture
    dyld: Library not loaded: /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/ProKit.framework/Versions/A/ProKit
    Referenced from: /Applications/Aperture.app/Contents/MacOS/./Aperture
    Reason: no suitable image found. Did find:
    /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/ProKit.framework/Versions/A/ProKit: mach-o, but wrong architecture
    Trace/BPT trap

    some of you got a clue? when i hex edit this 1.1 versions the error stays the same.

    my system is a:
    mac mini intel duo
    512 RAM

    thnx in advance
    x

  36. d.siska Says:

    To cocaine: two things. First the hexedits above are in the PPC part of the executable. I don’t know what one should do on an Intel Mac. I’d try searching groups.google.com.

    Second, your error is comming from the fact that you have a PPC version of ProKit. You need to download a newer one which is for Intel. I guess it will be on Apple’s website, but I don’t know. It’ll be nice if you post a link here, if you find it. Good luck.

  37. Mark Says:

    Great work!
    I was able to get Aparture 1.0 and 1.0.1 to run on my powerbook thanks to your hack. However version 1.1 and 1.1.1 complains over my graphic card. I’ve done the hex hacks for each version but without any luck. If I look into the aperture executable there are two places where I find theese strings “NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 Ultra OpenGL Engine” & “NVIDIA NV34MAP OpenGL Engine” which I replaced with “1” according to the 1.0 hack. Ive try reinstall the whole thing a couple of times but its still complaining about my graphics card on versions 1.1 an 1.1.1
    Any Sugestions? / Mark

  38. Westy Says:

    Hi, I think there is a typo in the above edits for Aperture 1.1.1

    At least the following does work:

    0×9908: 40 9E 00 88 -> 48 00 00 88
    0×99a4: 40 9E 00 88 -> 48 00 00 88
    0×9a5c: 40 9E 00 E0 -> 48 00 00 D8

    Thanks for provding this great hack!

    I have a 20″ iMAC G4 1.25 with 768 RAM – I am running Aperture 1.0 without problems.

    I have updated to 1.1.1 now, and tried the hack above; I am a little confused. I go to offset 9908 and replace the values, as shown. When I then go to 99a4, the values do not match the ones shown in the example (40 9E 00 88).

    What am I doing wrong?

    Thanks

  39. marco Says:

    i my name is marco i have de aperture dvd, but i don’t know how to use the 0xED.
    in the dvd there isn’t aperture.pkg

    can you help me, please

  40. d.siska Says:

    Marco, have a look at this, the instructions there, combined with those here might help.

  41. zero Says:

    I have a 12′ PB 867 MHz w/640 Ram. I know this is absurd for running Aperture 1.1, but. I use G5 Dual Core 2 gig at home (w/2 1/2 gig Ram) and so am thinking of buying Aperture. (I won’t “run” a bootleg, but I will “test drive” one, and buy if I intend to use). I wanted to be able to at least do the bare minimum when traveling, so I wanted to get it going on the PB as well to see if I could put off a new PB until they do another “small” one.

    Your hack worked, finally, but with some corrections, (for me straight from 1.1 with no upgrade) I found nothing similar to 40 9E etc at the 0x9908 etc addresses.

    So I used the addresses from your first tip, but the corrections from LATbauerdick, thus:

    0×93b8: 40 9E 00 88 -> 48 00 00 88
    0×9454: 40 9E 00 88 -> 48 00 00 88
    0×94f0: 40 9E 00 E0 -> 48 00 00 D8

    And now am running Aperture 1.1 on said 12″ PB 867 MHz w/640 Ram
    Is it slower than @#*&? Yes.
    Is it jerky and far from smooth? Yes.
    Is it working and perfectly adequate for my intents? Heck Yes!

    I am ordering my own version as we speak, this is a great program. And thanks to you guys here, the PB for travel is useable.

    Now, let’s all lobby for a new 10″ Macbook Pro Travel Edition!

    Thanks again, zero

  42. Rohan Says:

    Is is possible to install aperture on a 1ghz, 1gb ram, emac?

  43. d.siska Says:

    To Rohan: Yes I think it should be possible to install and run Aperture on an eMac (my brother has managed), but he decided that it’s so slow, that he’d rather use iPhoto.

  44. Marc Says:

    You really are the greatest!!! I left the old Aperture on my system for a while because the update didn’t work on my 12′ iBook. Today I thought, well let’s see if someone was able to discover the secret about all this. It’s amazing how you know all this stuff!!! Thx again. Greetings from the Netherlands.

  45. Stef G Says:

    I must be stupid 😦

    I’ve tried yours (and others) magic tricks (6 times), and it’s not working. It’s just bouncing and disapearing. I’ve tried on my MacMini (PPC 1,42 – 1 GB RAM) and my iBook (PPC 1,42 – 14″ – 512 MB RAM), no luck! I don’t need Aperture on my iBook, I was just trying my luck on other hardware (to see if it made any difference).

    If anyone can point me in the right direction, I’ll be happy and very thankfull.

    Have a lovely weekend – all of you 😉

    PS. Why didn’t anyone make patch? Can it not be done?

  46. diane Says:

    I found your solution to “Run Aperture on a 12″ PowerBook” dated Mon, Dec 12 ’05.

    I was successful in completing the first step (install ProAppRuntime). However, I think I’m in over my head. So, I’ll list what I have, would like to do, have done and would like to do:

    What I have:
    iMac 1.8 GHz PowerPC G5
    1.5 GB DDR SDRAM
    OSX Vers 10.4.6

    What I would like to do:
    is install Aperture on it. As with everyone else, I’m getting the error re video card.

    What I have done:

    I’ve followed successfully your first step in installing Aperture. But when I read about using an editor to change characters, I thought I ought to abandon this endeavor. I saw that you used emacs which I don’t have. And I’ve never edited a program before. Is there an easier step to do this or should I uninstall and wait for either an upgrade that I can use, or replace a computer (which I don’t see in the near future).

    What I would like to do:
    Either remove ProAppRuntime or find a way to finish this install. If I should uninstall ProApRuntime, is it simply going into the Library/Receipts and remove the package or is there something else I should do?

    I appreciate any help in advice and direction in this situation.

    Thanks,
    Diane

  47. seb Says:

    hi, i have yet to try the hack, but given everybody says is working well i guess it does.

    However, I was wondering how did you find out what bytes to change? ( you said “by the method of almost blind guessing”), so i was wondering what’s that method? the thing is that i tried everything i knew, gdb, obj-dump, class-dump and everything I could think of (but the thing is that i dont know anything about os x binaries and debugging) to track what’s the function being called and to be able to disable the call (which is what I assume the hack does)

    thanks a lot in advance

  48. matt Says:

    i’m really bummed out. i can’t get this thing to work. i don’t know where in the hex to do it, it’s really making me mad. i mean, can someone IM me and help me via AIM or something? AIM – lilstewart92

    PLEASE HELP!

    I need it to run on my iBook G4 1.42GHz, 1.5GB RAM, 80GBHD.

    i’ve tried searching the hex’s and everything, i really need one to one help. 😦

    PLEASE HELP. 🙂

  49. Tony Says:

    Thanks a lot for this hack

    I got Aperture 1.1.1 working on my eMac 1ghz with 512 mb ram, (so yes rohan it is possible on your emac)

    it’s hardly fast.. but it’ll do for me!

  50. Karol tymal Says:

    Aperture 1.1.2 doesn’t work with that hack. 😦

  51. lilstewart92 Says:

    Well, what I did was, before the update, i backed up that Aperture file, and then i found it doesn’t work in 1.1.2, so i put the old file in, and it works, and it’s 1.1.2 🙂

    i probably lost some of the extra stuff, though, you never know

    someone wanna try and figure the new update out? :\

  52. some guy Says:

    I did a test and found the same codes at 8fe8 and 9084

    I used the same NEW codes and it launches okay, but since I have NO IDEA what I’m doing, I could have broken something.

  53. Karol tymal Says:

    http://www.mujmac.cz/art/tt/aperture-frontrow-hack.html

  54. Kristian Says:

    Does that site have a recipie for getting Aperture 1.1.2 to work? Please translate.

  55. parents Says:

    Aperture 1.1.2

    0×8fe8: 40 9E 00 88 -> 48 00 00 88
    0×9084: 40 9E 00 88 -> 48 00 00 88
    0×913c: 40 9E 00 D8 -> 48 00 00 D8

  56. Jeff Hargrove Says:

    Has anyone figured out the new hack to run Aperture 1.1.2 on a 12″ Powerbook??

  57. Why for * sake Says:

    Why for *** sake does Apple do shit like this. STOP THE HARDWARE LIMITATIONS APPLE!!! It runs fine on my PowerBook 1,5GHz 12″ with 23″ display. Not that fast, but fast enough.

    Hack for 1.1.2 anyone?

  58. Dave Says:

    I try to update Aperture 1.0 to 1.1 by install 1.0.1 Now, I modified the UNIX executable, and now, Aperture open, and quit. No crash report… I’m on a 1,42GHz eMac Superdrive

    Thank you to help me

  59. Dave Says:

    THANK YOU SO MUCH !!! Aperture 1.1.1 work PERFECTLY on my eMac 2005 !!!

  60. BearBear Says:

    Try this one… (I can find these two offset so far and after I made the change it works!!!)

    p.s. Can’t find the third one though…

    0x8FE8
    0x9084

  61. calv Says:

    Hi there,

    First of all, thanks for the great hack. I can’t believe that Aperture is not designed to work on my rev a iMac, especially as this hack appears to prove that there i no real hardware restrictions.

    I would, however, like to ask one thing. Once I have completed the steps outlined in your hack, do I then need to somehow reconstruct the installer package and then install it with the hacked version, or do I need to install each package in the aperture installer separately? In other words, where do I put everything once the app has been edited?

    Sorry if this sounds basic, but I’ve never hacked an app before.

    Cheers!

  62. d.siska Says:

    Re: Parents: Yes it works for me, cheers, I didn’t even have to do anything this time.

    Re: calv: No, you do the edits on an installed application, no need to package and install again.

    Re: dave: use gdb.

    Re: matt: c’mon man, either you have enough time on your hands to figure out how to use 0xED (or read the manual), or if you don’t have that much time then you really should not waste time hacking Aperture. It’s slow on unsupported hardware….

    Re: lilstewart92: that’s not the way to go, you’re still running 1.1.1, something like export probably won’t work

    Re: seb. I use command line tools. “otool -t -v” provides dissasembly. gdb provides the debugger (you place breakpoints at any address by “break *0x9084” for example). You then take it from there. Start by doing a random binary search: place a breakpoint at a random address in the executable and see if the hardware check occurs before or after… (might not work, because you could have an early address that is executed _after_ the failed check, hence a bit of gueessing). Once you find where the checks happen you do some stepping, figure out what the program’s doing and change it….
    see e.g.:
    http://developer.apple.com/documentation/DeveloperTools/Reference/Assembler/index.html?http://developer.apple.com/documentation/DeveloperTools/Reference/Assembler/PPCInstructions/chapter_6_section_6.html
    http://www.csee.umbc.edu/help/nasm/nasm.shtml
    http://blogs.msdn.com/joelpob/archive/2004/04/21/117664.aspx

    Re: diane: sorry, I don’t know about any simpler way. As far as I know, you have to do the hexedits. In theory someone could post the modified executable on the net, but that would be breaking Apple’s copyright in a flagrant way.

    Finally, sorry for the slow moderation, I’ve been on holiday for 2 weeks without any internet access.

  63. Dr Hilary Rhodes Says:

    Thank you, thank you, thank you for the hex code for getting Aperture to run on my G5 with Wacom tablet at top res 1024 x 768. Why is Apple doing this, for goodness’ sake.

    I have had to hack this for the 3rd update yet again. I thought they may have stopped this silliness by now.

    Best,

    Hilary

  64. nick Says:

    my old serial number won’t work now. for 1.1.1

    ??

  65. d.siska Says:

    to nick: That’s nothing to do with disabling the hardware checks. Contact Apple about your serial number. If you don’t have a legal copy of Aperture, then… well… let’s see… I don’t see why I shouldn’t help people to run Aperture on unsupported hardware. But I also clearly see why I should not help people run illegal copies of any software.

  66. nick Says:

    to d.siska

    i agree with you.

    i am attempting to run a non legit version for just one reason.

    i would like to see how well it can run on my machine before i buy.

    with the performance improvements made since 1.0 i was hoping maybe it will run ok.

    if it in fact does i then have the confidence to run to the store to spend 300 dollars on software that will work.

  67. garrett Says:

    Thanks again d.siska, and parents… I got 1.1.2 working on my aging powerbook 12″ 1ghz with 1.25g RAM…. looking forward to a macbook pro in the future.

    keep up the excellent work.

  68. nick Says:

    garrett

    how do you like it on your machine?

  69. Jace Says:

    This forum never stops impressing me! Everytime there is an aperture update, I install it thinking that Apple has to have fixed the silly screen res check. And everytime I find out they haven’t. Thanks for helping me keep my investment functional! As a side note, I’m running a G5 Quad with 4GB of RAM. I’m not sure why apple thinks I can’t run Aperture simply because my monitor is only 1280×720????!!!!

  70. Handeld Says:

    I am running Aperture 1.0 on my iBook G4 1.42g 1.5 gRam. Works fine.
    I would like to upgrade to the latest version. What hack do i need to do?
    TIA
    Han

  71. Matt Hagen Says:

    Great work, folks! I used the hack Parents posted for 1.1.2 on June 23 and it works with my dual 2GHZ G5 (2GB RAM) and cruddy old AGB GeForce FX 5200 and 64MB of vRAM. Runs like a champ. A slow, aging champ, but a champ nonetheless.

    Thanks!

    Ah hell. Now I guess I don’t have any excuses for not finishing the shoots I did last week. D’oh!

  72. ahh Says:

    i hate you.

  73. voodoo Says:

    anyone know why it wont export an image? it thinks about it for ages, then just crashes.

    Pretty dissapointing.

    1ghz pB
    512mb Ram

  74. IcemanYQQ Says:

    Thanks for all the help. I was able to get 1.0.1 running, but would really like to get 1.1 installed.

    The offset field in OxED will not let me input letters. Any idea on how to do this?

  75. IcemanYQQ Says:

    This is an awesome web page.

    I am now running Aperture 1.1.2 on a 12″ Powerbook G4 with 1.25GB RAM and 1.5GHZ PPC

    It runs very well, better than lightroom, and good enough for field work. I also have it on my 20″ iMac (Intel).

    For those interested, I used OxED, Zero’s fix for 1.1, LATBauerdick’s for 1.1.1, and parent’s for 1.1.2.

    Thanks to all, especially david 🙂

  76. d.siska Says:

    Some people tried posting serial numbers to this forum. I am sorry but I have to delete such comments.

  77. Michael Spencer Says:

    The ‘parents’ solution worked for me on my DP 1.8 3.5G 23″ Apple Cinema and v 1.1.2.

    For newbies like myself I recommend ‘HexEdit’ because it is very clear about where you are exactly in the hex-mess; for those of us unfamiliar with the conventions it is darned easy to get lost.

    Michael

  78. loody Says:

    first of all thanks for the great site. I’ve managed to use 1.0 and 1.1.1 on a 1st gen Imac G5 great !
    but on 1.1.2 updated 16.07.2006 parents’ hacks dont work for me. the addresses dont hold the same hexs. and same as lilstewart92 when I go back 1.1.1 it now says it is 1.1.2 !

    Anyone with the correct hacks for 1.1.2 ?
    cheers,
    loody

  79. d.siska Says:

    Hi loody,

    the reason why even Aperture 1.1.1 would say it’s version 1.1.2 is that it takes it’s version number from /Applications/Aperture/Contents/Info.plist. If you open that file, you’ll see that the key CFBundleShortVersionString has the value 1.1.2. (if you change it 1.1.99 then Aperture will display that as it’s version).

    So this probably means that while you have the binary for Aperture 1.1.1, the rest of the bundle is 1.1.2.

    Make sure that your executable (/Applications/Aperture/Contents/MacOS/Aperture) is version 1.1.2. and then I’m fairly sure that the addresses in parent’s hack will contain the same hexes (it worked for me and other people said here it worked for them as well, so I’m pretty certain that it’s correct).

    Your installation of Aperture might be by now bungled beyond repair, so installing from DVD and then running software update to get to version 1.1.2 might be the safest way.

  80. loody Says:

    You’re right ! the addresses are correct.
    The trick was with OxED : It looks like I was opening by ‘open recent’ a file that wasn’t THAT recent 😦
    Cool it’s not a real problem ! keep the good work going!
    cheers,
    loody

  81. Kevin Says:

    Hey Guys. I have a mac mini intel core solo with 512 RAM. How can I get Aperture to run on it? All I have of Aperture is the Aperture.pkg file. I can install it but when I launch it, it tells me I don’t meet the mininum requirements. What can I do?

  82. d.siska Says:

    Hi Kevin. What you can do depends on how god you are with x86 assembly. My guess is that you can disable the hardware checks in a similar way to the way it’s been done on PowerPC. All you have to do is find the right places in the x86 part of the Aperture binary. My comment from 25/6/06, the reply to “seb” might help. I can’t do anything as I don’t have an Intel Mac to test it. And when I buy a new Mac, I’ll make sure Aperture is supported in the first place.

  83. Kevin Says:

    Hi. Thanks for the quick reply! I am considering purchasing Aperture and wanted to try out a pirated copy before I spend the $$$ since Apple doesn’t give Free Trials. I really aren’t that good with coding. Do you have AIM? I would really appreciate it if I could IM you.

  84. Kevin Says:

    Does anyone that has an intel Mac know x86 assembly? I would really appreciate it if you could help. =]

    Thanks!!

  85. Kevin Says:

    I figured out the Hardware Test myself, so thats good. Now I have to figure out the Resolution message Im getting. Anyone?

  86. Kevin Says:

    Oh, and for the rest of you guys. There is no reason to edit the HEX for hardware. All I did was opened the contents of Aperture.pkg and hit Resources once in the Contents folder. Then, you delete the SystemCheck file (I think its called, its pretty obvious). Then, double click the only folder remaining within that folder. There is one more obvious file, delete it. Done! Now run Software Update and update it to the latest version. Now, work out the resolution problem and your done! Good Luck.

    Oh, and this wasn’t my crack.

    http://www.hardmac.com/news/2006-04-17/#5371

  87. Kevin Says:

    Ok Disregard that message. I hit “ok” this time instead of “quit” in aperture and it told me I dont have 1000Mb Ram. This is honestly getting on my nerves. Any ideas at all?

  88. PlayPlay Says:

    Is there a workaround for Aperture 1.12 ?

  89. PlayPlay Says:

    Kindly ignore last post…. got it work using parents tips. thanks

  90. photoz Says:

    thanks for the 1.1.2 update! works here on dual G5 1.8s with Geforce FX 5200

  91. Holger Says:

    Thanks! This was a great help; After installing V1, I did the update process to V1.1; Editing the Info.Plist (because my PB has only 768 MB of Ram) and patching the aplication (the changes, I found at the beginnung of this age)… that’s all! Now Aperture is running on my 12″ Powerpook!

  92. Fanfare Says:

    Works like a charm with version 1.1.2 on Dual 1GHz G4 w/ GeForce 4Ti. Thanks to those contributors who make this possible!

  93. Chris Says:

    I have just bought Apture 1.1. I’m trying to run it on 12″ powerbook.

    So far I have been able to install but can not seem to open without resolution error.

    I really have never worked with a HEXEDIT so maybe I’m doing it wrong. Is it possible to find any more deatailed instructions.

    All I can find is is your info that sounds like it works for many but I think I am just to new to this type of problem to know what I’m doing!

    Thanks

  94. Oap Says:

    Aperture 1.1.2 patch worked perfectly on the 1.66 Ghz Mac Mini – Thanks!

  95. Ian Says:

    I had to make the resolution change at offset 0x913c for Aperture 1.1.2. HTH

  96. Mikica Says:

    Ok, so many things and replies. Can somebody now enter the right way to hack the 1.1.2 version (step by step) for us non-familiar with those hexthings

  97. jb Says:

    Ok, i now have a video card error in 1.1.2. A tad annoying since I thought I’d turned off all the HW checks in the edit.

    I’ve done the 1.1.2 edits from Parents. I’m running this on a iBook G4 1.33GHz with 1Gb RAM. Any tips on getting around the problem?

  98. mike Says:

    Ok, so version 1.5 is out later this week, can we kinda count on the hexedit for it!!!!!

    Cheers mike

  99. voodoo Says:

    anyone got their hands on aperture 1.5 to see if they can get it working?

  100. ryan Says:

    Well, I’ve finally managed to get it working on my MDD 867. While it will launch and stay open, it doesn’t do anything. I can’t get it to imort and dragging photos into it just makes it hang (and crash occassionally. Any ideas?

  101. ryan Says:

    well, I’ve finally realized I’m cluess on how to do the hex editing! I’ve downloaded Hex Edit and the one from Apple. I can’t seem to find anything resembling the values here. HELP!

  102. d.siska Says:

    Hi mike, voodoo, I still don’t have 1.5, but I started a new thread on it. This one is getting long and confusing. See http://david.djsiska.cz/?p=65.

  103. BDM / Says:

    Oh my God they translate it in Frecnh, German and Japanese.. Finally ! loL

  104. Brian Peat Says:

    sweet. I used HexEditor to search for the strings that needed to be changed and changed the first 3 of these: “40 9E 00 88” to “48 00 00 88” and the first one of this: “40 9E 00 D8” to this: “48 00 00 D8”

    and it booted right up on my Dual 867 G4 (with a Radeon 9800 card in it). This’ll get me by till my Mac Pro comes in 🙂

  105. Nicholas Says:

    I can’t say thank you enough. My MacBookPro was shipped to Apple for repairs and I couldn’t access my Aperture files on my old G4 17″ Aluminum. I’m applying the HEX hack now… I’ll let you know if it works. If it does, you just saved me a lot of $$ on equipment rentals.

  106. Nicholas Says:

    Unfortunately, I can’t seem to get 1.1.2 working on my G4 powerbook. I tried parents’ hacks without avail. Suggestions?

  107. Prosper Says:

    Brian, your hack works fine on Aperture 1.5. There is only one problem on my dual-G4 + ATI9800pro : the magnifier doesn’t work ! I don’t know if it’s because of the hack or if it’s a bug from Aperture 1.5.
    Anyway, thanks a lot for this great hack.

  108. Brian Peat Says:

    Wow, you’re right, the mag glass doesn’t work. Maybe someone who actually knows what they’re doing can chime in on this. All I did was search for already known codes and change them.

  109. Brian Peat Says:

    Ah ha!

    Seems I went a bit overboard and changed one too many of them.

    According to the other thread, here’s the correct hack:

    0×0b548: 40 9E 00 88 -> 48 00 00 88
    0×0b5e4: 40 9E 00 88 -> 48 00 00 88
    0×17390: 40 9E 00 E0 -> 48 00 00 D8

    I just tried it on the original 1.5 and the mag glass works now.

  110. Paul Says:

    i have an aperture install with the above strings already altered from demonoid, but no luck with opening on PB 12″ 1.5GHz + 1.25 ram

    are their any other suggestions?

  111. Paul Says:

    ahh or do i still need to tweak the info.plist file?

  112. Mad Monk Says:

    Hello there, great site! Any luck hacking Aperture 1.5 to work on a 1.33gz PB 12″ G4? I will continue my search but if I find it, I will make sure to post it your site.

  113. paulrmc Says:

    I have an interesting variant of the problem:

    I have a Mac mini Core Duo.
    I just bought a retail Aperture 1.1 box and was told I could upgrade to 1.5.

    Catch-22: 1.1 doesn’t want to install (doesn’t know the HW) but it NEEDS to be installed for the 1.5 upgrade to work…

    How do I patch the 1.1 installer to eliminate the HW checks…

    tx already!

    Paul

  114. Roy Says:

    Someone got info about the No CPU [k] for 1.5.1 version ?

  115. IcemanYQQ Says:

    Does anyone have the “workaround” for 1.5.1? It sure would be appreciated. The loupe is driving me crazy.

  116. Neil Says:

    I installed the 1.5 trial on my 12″ 1.33 Powerbook using Pacifist, no other hacks required. I then downloaded 1.5.1 using software update but told to download only.
    Installed using Pacifist again only this time using the upgrade option.
    Everything works fine. No hardware checks at all!!

  117. Raz Says:

    Can anyone (maby Nei) tell a bit more about installing the 1.5 trial on af 12″ PB G4, i can’t get i worked around ??

  118. Nick Says:

    Brian, your latest post doesn’t seem to work for v 1.5.1. The original values were different and when I changed them, Aperture wouldn’t boot at all. Do you know the workaround for v 1.5.1? Thank you, this could be a life saver!

  119. tommyfiger Says:

    Hi, Aces!

    Just updated my 12″ 1,33 iBook to 1Gb (originally 265 Mb…). I know Aperture won´t maybe work ´fast as a shark´ ( go Accept go…) on my gear. But(t), would it be possible to get a hacked version of Aperture 1.5.2 and try it? And where?

    I ´ve tried some including v. 1.1 and it takes me to face a comment ´meeting no minimum hardware requirements´ or something like that. I´m just trying to avoid problems with updating version and wrestle with hex editor.

    danx fo´ ansas!!

Comments are closed.


